Rule of the British Governor and Governor Generals Modern History

general knowledge

Rule of the British Governor and Governor Generals Modern History General Knowledge:

  • After the victory of the English in Buxar, Clive was appointed the governor and commander-in-chief of the English pos­ sessions in Bengal.
  • Warren Hastings was appointed the Gov­ ernor of Bengal in 1772.
  • In 1773 the Regulating Act was passed which provided for the setting up of a supreme court to try all British subjects.
  • Lord Wellesley is considered to be one , of the most brilliant Governor Generals of Bengal.
  • He introduced the Subsidiary Alliance system to undo with the French influence and bring the Indian states within the pur­ view of the British power of Jurisdiction.
  • Lord Minto-I (AD 1807-13) was followed by Lord Hastings who governed from 1813 to 1823.
  • Marquess of Hastings (AD 1813-1823)- He was the first to appoint Indians to the highest posts of responsibility. The first vernacular newspaper Samachar Patrika published during his time.
  • Lord William Bentinck (AD 1828-35)- Charter Act of 1833 was passed and he was made the first Governor General of India; Abolition of sati in 1829.
  • Lord Dalhousie (AD 1848-56)- Doctrine of Lapse, The Second Burmese war The Second Anglo Sikh War, Shimla made the summer capital, First railway line was laid from Bombay to Thane, in 1853.
  • Lord Canning (AD 1856-58) – Annexation of Avadh, enactment of Hindu Widow Re­ marriage Bill, 1857, establishment of uni­ versities at Calcutta, Madras and Bom­ bay, revolt of 1857.

Following the Queen’s recommendation in 1858, transferring the Government from the company to the British Crown, Lord Can­ ning was made the first Viceroy of India.

  • Lord Mayo (AD 1869-72)- Organised first census which was held in 1871.
  • Lord Lytton (AD 1876-80)- The Delhi Durbar, january 1, 1877 and the Vernacu­ lar Press Act, 1878.
  • Lord Ripon (AD 1880-84) – First Factory Act of 1881. Local Self-Government was introduced in 1882. Repeat of Vernacular Press act.
  • Lord Curzon (AD 1899-1905) – Famine Commission, Agriculture Research Institute at Pusa, Partition of Bengal in 1905.
  • Lord Minto H (AD 1905-10)- Minto-Mor- ley Reforms in 1909. Swadeshi movement (1905-08), foundation of Muslim League (1906), Surat session and split in the con­ gress (1907).

Capital of country was announced to be shifted from Calcutta to Delhi.

  • Lord Chelmsford (1916-21)- Government of India Act 1919 (Montague-Chelmsford Reforms), enactment of Rowlatt Act (1919) Jallianwala Bagh Tragedy (1919), begin­ ning of the Non-co-operation Movement.
  • Lord Irwin (AD 1926-31)- Appointment of Simon commission in 1928. Gandhi- Irwin Pact in 1931; First Around Table Con­ ference (1930).
  • Lord Willington (AD 1931-36)- The Sec­ ond Round Table Conference 1931, The communal award, 1932, the Poona pact, Third Round Table Conference, 1932.
  • Lord Wavell (AD 1944-47)- Wavell Plan and Shimla Conference, Cabinet Mission (Lawrence, Cripps and Alexander), Direct Action Day” on August 16, 1946, Attlee’s Declaration,
  • Lord Mountbatten, (March 1947-June 1948) Last Viceroy of British India and first-Governor general of free India. Par­ tition of India in third week of June, 1947; Indian Independence Act, Partition of the country between two independent states of India and Pakistan. He was succeeded by C. Rajagopalachari.

Some Important oilers in India (1720- 1949)

Ruler Period Place
1 Sadat Khan Burhan-ul- Mulk 1722-39 Awadh
2 Safdar Jung 1739-54 Awadh
3 Shuja-ud-daulah 1754-75 Awadh
4 Asaf-ud-daulah 1775-97 Awadh
5 WazirAli 1797-98 Awadh
6 Nizam-ul-Mulk Asaflah 1724-48 Hyderabad
7 Nasirjung 1748-50 Hyderabad
8 Muzaffarjung 1750-51 Hyderabad
9 Salabatjung 1751-60 Hyderabad
10 Nizam Ali 1760-1803 Hyderabad
11 SikandarJah 1803-29 Hyderabad
12 Nasir-ud-daulah 1829-57 Hyderabad
13 Afjal-ud-daulah 1857-69 Hyderabad
14 Mahabat Ali Khan 1869-1911 Hyderabad
15 Osman Ali Khan 1911-49 Hyderabad
16 Hyder Ali 1761-82 Mysore
17 Tipu Sultan 1782-99 Mysore
18 Ranjit Singh 1792-1839 Punjab

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *